The Year of the Great Perhaps

I don’t want to write a typical, overly-nostalgic, super-feely New Year’s blog post. And you don’t want to read one, either.

In a few days, I am moving to London for 4 months. I know…

I have no idea what it’s going to feel like, and thus I have no idea how to emotionally prepare myself. But I do know this:

Looking for Alaska by John Green is, dare I say, my favorite book ever. It’s a coming-of-age story about first loves and last words. Miles Halter is fascinated by the dying words of the French poet Francois Rabelais, “I go to seek a Great Perhaps.” The novel is his story of attempting to extend himself beyond an ordinary life in search of his Great Perhaps.

So, I will simple say, may 2015 be the year of the Great Perhaps. Of mine and of yours.

But I’ve learned that you have to do something in order to make it to your Great Perhaps. It seldom just happens upon you. So make a change, take a risk, go against your instincts or follow them for the first time.

This is, of course, totally, brutally difficult. It’s not easy. It’s not an instant epiphany. It’s something you have to fight for – and I’m no expert in this battle, I’m just another soldier with a sword, charging at life with a shaky grip and only one eye open. But, hoping for the best, I believe we get better at this in time.

Yeah, I think we’ll get there. And when we do, I bet we’ll get cool buttons like this one.

tumblr_n2szvw20g91qbj4gxo1_500

2014 was a pretty mixed bag for me, as I assume it was for most of us. Highs and lows, shocks and sadness sprinkled with love and friendship and learning. It was a year of growth, and I am so much more proud of the person I am right now than the person I was a year ago.

I hope you are, too. If not, well, hit a punching bag, get a haircut, take a deep breath and make a change.

You’ll be fine, I promise.

tumblr_ndygzehNY81s7ub7eo1_500

(Everything’s better with a monkey, isn’t it?)

A little part of me wants to leave you with a sappy quote. Maybe something like,

  • “If it’s both terrifying and amazing then you should definitely pursue it.”
  • “Get your shit together, Carol!” Kristen Wigg, Bridesmaids
  • “And now that you don’t have to be perfect, you can be good.” John Steinbeck
  • “Sure, I peed on her. And if I had to, I’d pee on any one of you!” Joey, Friends
  • “I don’t know a perfect person. I only know flawed people who are still worth loving.” John Green

But all of those would hinder this from being a sappy-barf-free New Year’s Eve post. So instead I’ll leave you with some Ron Swanson gifs to even things out.

giphy

tumblr_mwd6vmmGkd1ruy7hjo4_250tumblr_mwd6vmmGkd1ruy7hjo3_250

See you across the pond!

M

Leave a Reply

